Rarer than rare, every Raj Diamonds diamond is meticulously selected for its exceptional characteristics and promise above and beyond the 4Cs of Cut, Colour, Clarity and Carat.
Diamond Shapes
While nature determined the color and clarity of a natural diamond, man is responsible for the cut quality which brings it to life. The planning, proportions, cutting precision and details of finish determine how brilliant, dispersive and scintillating the diamond will be. If the cutting factors under man's control are not optimized, the appearance of the diamond can be adversely affected.
Diamond faceting has changed over time, particularly as lighting has evolved. There are many shapes and cutting styles, each with different visual properties. The most popular diamond cut is the Round Brilliant
Elements of diamond beauty can be described as brilliance (all light returning to the eye), dispersion or 'fire' (seen as white light is broken into spectral colours),contrast patterns (contrasting light and dark areas created by the viewer's reflection) and scintillation or 'sparkle' (seen as the diamond, the light source or the observer move).These qualities combine to create the life of the diamond and the way it reacts to lighting and environment.

Hearts & Arrows: A one-in-a-million cut that can be truly called perfect, with precise symmetry, painstakingly cut facets and immaculate craftsmanship. When viewed from the top (crown), an ideally cut diamond should reveal eight symmetrical arrows. On the other hand, when the diamond is viewed from the bottom (pavilion), it should reveal eight symmetrical hearts.
Most diamonds of gem quality used in jewelry vary in shade from completely colorless down to a visible yellow or brown tint.
The rarest and most expensive are diamonds in the colorless range graded D, E and F on a scale that descends to Z. Diamonds with more color than Z, or in other shades such as orange, pink, blue, etc. are classified as "Fancy Colored Diamonds" and are graded on the Colored Diamond Scale.
To determine the correct color, diamonds are compared to an internationally accepted master set of stones, the colors of which range from D, or colorless (the most sought after) to Z, the most yellow/brown - aside from "fancy" yellow or brown.
The colour of the assigned diamonds in the D-Z range with the diamond face-down and viewed through the pavilion. This is because size, shape, cut quality and the presence of fluorescence can influence visible face-up colour. In fact, lighting, mounting choice and even the clothes one wears has an impact on colour, so use the most neutral environment possible to ensure accurate and consistent results.
D - F
G - J
Near Colourless
K - M
Slightly Tinted
N - R
Very Light Yellow
S - Z
Light Yellow or Brown
Since diamonds form under extreme heat and pressure, internal and external characteristics are common. These characteristics help gemologists separate natural diamonds from synthetics and simulants, and identify individual stones.
There are two types of clarity characteristics: inclusions and blemishes. In order to grade the clarity of a diamond, ary to observe the number and nature of external and internal characteristics of the stone, as well as their size and position.
The difference is based on their locations: inclusions are enclosed within a diamond, while blemishes are external characteristics.
IF : Internally Flawless
Free of inclusions. Only insignificant blemishes visible under 10x magnification.
VVS1 - VVS2 : Very Very Slightly Included
Minute inclusions that are very difficult to locate under 10x magnification.
VS1 - VS2 : Very Slightly Included
Minute inclusions that are difficult to somewhat easy to see under 10x magnification.
SI1 - SI2 : Slightly Included
Noticeable inclusions that are easy to see under 10x magnification.
I1 - I2 - I3 : Visibly Included
Inclusions that are obvious under 10x magnification and can be easily seen face-up with the unaided eye.
The weight or size of a diamond is measured in carats (ct.).
One carat weighs 1/5 of a gram and is divided into 100 points, so a diamond weighing 1.07carat is referred to as "one carat and seven points."
For Example
0.75 carat = 75 points.
1/2 carat = 50 points.
1/4 carat = 25 points.
When diamonds are mined, large gems are discovered much less frequently than small ones, which make large diamonds much more valuable. Diamond prices rise exponentially with carat weight. So, a 2-carat diamond of a given quality is always worth more than two 1-carat diamonds of the same quality. As a reference, consider this chart for round brilliant diamonds:
3 cts.
2 cts.
1.75 cts.
1.5 cts.
1.25 cts.
1 ct.
0.75 ct.
0.5 ct.
0.25 ct.
0.10 ct.